Here’s an update to this post. It’s now Christmas. I’m making  more coffee bread. I realize this recipe leaves a little out. The ingredients should be divided. The last two are for the topping.

To clarify how to place the ingredients in your bread machine, this is what mine likes: Mix all your wet ingredients and pour them in first. Then pour in all your already mixed dry ingredients, EXCEPT THE YEAST.  Create a little well at the top of your flour mixture heap and pour the yeast on top like a snow covered volcano. Then let the machine do its thing.

One more thing: I add a touch of vanilla to the dough as a personal preference. A touch of almond extract is also very nice.

 Good luck!

12-23-07

I actually had time to visit with people this holiday. What a treat. We also had our Thanksgiving dinner on Saturday with just a couple of friends we haven’t seen in a while, plus one of our favorites — Lizzie.  That gave me time to bake a few things ahead on Thanksgiving day, when it was cool and quiet. In fact, because I couldn’t find my recipe box, I searched online for a couple of my favorites and really scored. My Swedish grandma always made cardamom bread and I love to make it when I have time. It’s warm, braided, cinnamon sugar topped love. But it takes forever to make the dough, knead it, let it rise, knead it again, then braid it, and let it rise again. Online I found a version that uses a bread machine — brilliant! And it was PERFECT. Grandma would’ve been so pleased — she loved shortcuts that work (she’d have used Minute Rice in her rice pudding if it worked).  So here’s the recipe I am thankful for.  Give it a try and follow the tip at the end. I did the same thing to keep the temperature warm and constant. I would also suggest warm milk to help the yeast rise. Good luck!

Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread

SUBMITTED BY: Mama Stace      PHOTO BY: ashleynicole

“This is a delicious Swedish coffee bread recipe converted for use with a bread maker! My family is Swedish, and ever year we make this recipe just in time for Christmas. We always enjoy it especially on Christmas morning. We used to make a long, drawn out version that was my great-grandmother’s recipe, but thanks to modern conveniences like the bread maker it takes much less time and work! I hope your family enjoys this as much as mine has.”

PREP TIME  15 Min
SERVINGS & SCALING
Original recipe yield: 1 loaf

    

About  scaling  and  conversions

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons softened butter
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 (.25 ounce) envelope active dry yeast
  • 3 teaspoons ground cardamom
  • 2 egg whites, slightly beaten
  • pearl sugar, or other decorative sugar

 

number of stars
READ REVIEWS (11)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place ingredients in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press Start.
  2. When the dough cycle has finished, divide into three equal portions. Roll each piece into a rope 12 to 14 inches long. Lay the three ropes side by side, then braid together. Tuck the ends underneath, and place onto a greased baking sheet, cover loosely with a towel, and allow to rise until doubled in bulk.
  3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  4. Brush the braid with beaten egg white and sprinkle with pearl sugar. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes.

document.write(”);Click here to find out more!

ADVERTISEMENT

REVIEWS

MORE MEMBER REVIEWS

The reviewer gave this recipe 5 stars. This recipe averages a 0 star rating.

Reviewed on Dec. 3, 2006 by Tami J

Thank you so much for a smaller (1 loaf instead of 3) and quick version of my great-great-aunt’s “Vetebrod” (umlout omitted, as I don’t know how to type it )! To keep the temperature consistant for the dough to rise, I’ve found that if you turn on the oven to 400 degrees for 1 minute, then turn it off and put the bread in immediately (covered with a clean, lint free cloth) and allow it to sit for 1 hour. It keeps the temp more consistant in my draftly kitchen. 🙂 I think the crust was a little tougher than normal this way (but still good) and I had to add a little flour during the knead cycle to keep it from sticking to the sides of the bread machine. If you can’t find pearl sugar, regular granulated works well. A quick heads up for anyone who has not purchased Cardamom before – it’s expensive and can be difficult to find. Only one local store here (it’s a small town) carries it ground (Spice Islands) at $11.99 for a jar. Keep in mind that ground loses it’s potency once opened, so keep the jar TIGHTLY closed for it’s next use. Thanks again for the recipe!!

6 users found this review helpful

